blazing my own oregon trail

we had a cute camp

Misty and overcast left little optimism about finding these elusive gray whales, which to many people are not elusive at all. Living large this morning we went out

. cute .

to breakfast at a cute little restaurant which I believe use to be some sort of fishing or docking store… something salty. It was awesome to be able to eat a nice hot breakfast inside and watch the seals and sea lions lazily lay around on the dock outside the window.

From Crescent City we drove the coast up to Sunset Bay State Park in Oregon with no luck spotting any whales. Although the internet says this time of year if you sit in the same spot for an hour an average of 6 whales should pass you (humf). We drove up to a point overlooking the ocean a little ways up from our camp ground, two ladies were standing with binoculars. I enquire if they have spotted any whales, they say ‘no, just one shark’, which starts my skeptism, but I continue to look for something, anything, anyway. “Oh, there is a whale” one of the ladies casually mentions. “Where?” I shout with the enthusiasm of a kid that realizes you don’t have to wait till Halloween, that candy is something you can acquire year-round. “Oh right over there between those two rocks”, This lady couldn’t seem more bored, and didn’t seem to realize when I said “where” that meant I did not see it. Not only did they not give me further directions besides “oh by that rock” (for those of you that don’t know, the northwest coast of the United States is a gigantic pile of rocks. “By that rock” is not a real direction.) She didn’t offer her binoculars, and they don’t even continue to watch the whale, they just left. What a bunch of whale watching hooey. I continue to be skeptical, but one of the “rocks” I was looking at, didn’t seem to be there later. Was that the whale? Had the tide changed and covered up that rock? I will never know, but I do know I have no fond spot in my heart for those spoiled whale watching Oregonians and their lack of excitement for whales or need to share the experience. (From this view point though, we were able to watch 2 bald eagles sit on top of a rock together for the duration of our ‘viewing’.)

We continued to move on to a sport I have a much more successful track record with, Tidepooling! For as long I can remember I have collected tiny pieces of broken urchin shells I have found on the beach. Completely accepting that finding a whole one ashore was impossible because they are so delicate, yet since I’ve meet Rhet I have found whole ones everywhere we go! Bahamas, BAM perfect urchin shell. Naples, BAM perfect urchin shell (spines still intact (my dad also found a perfect one this year at Fort Desoto while visiting Kerry and Bobby)). Oregon coast tidepool, where we do not see ANY live urchins, zero zilch none, BAM perfect urchin shell.

somethings will never change

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

