balmy

Today is my last day in Ketchikan, I catch a flight in the morning and will  be in Phoenix tomorrow evening.

It’s weird to think my time here is already over, and I feel … odd? packing my bags and planning the next leg of my journey with me and only my three suitcases with me. I seemed to arrive here with much more, in all senses.

From Phoenix I will be driving north to Bryce Canyon National Park where I will start work Thursday at the front desk of the Bryce Canyon Lodge.

I am pretty excited to experience fall there, a season I seldom get to see or enjoy. I was planning on road tripping through that area, but getting a job there is just as good, if not better. I am excited to have some front desk experience, and an October 31st end date, so still a chance to escape from the snow if I need to.

I have really had a fun time in Ketchikan, and its hard to believe my time is done here. The wildlife has been so dynamic and interesting I just feel like I am going to be missing out some by leaving early. When mom, dad, tia, and auntie kerry came to visit the bald eagles were everywhere, and now there are trips everyday that go out and don’t see one. they have currently been replaced with sea gulls, which are actually quite enjoyable when they are not being fed 3 feet away from you by a stupid tourist on the beach.

Today was the first real spotting of killer whales we have had in town for  quite some time. They have also been gone, following the salmon, but are/should be back about now. I am not sure if I told you or not, but we saw an orca out the window a few weeks ago while we were sitting around the table playing poker, and bam, a fin just pops out of the water. It was really incredible. Just a small transient pod, just popped up for a minute.

The bears have been out of this world, and the salmon, well the salmon are amazing animals as well.

Getting a job has really changed my plans… im not certain when I will be by to visit, but I do know in just 2 days I will be 2 time zones closer.

Love you all always

    • Emily
    • August 29th, 2011

    I love you! Glad you will be at least a little closer.

    • lulu
    • August 29th, 2011

    Keep smiling!

    • Mum
    • August 29th, 2011

    Hurry back to the lower 48!

    • Tia
    • August 30th, 2011

    Very excited for your next journey. Travel safe and I hope to see you soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

