Peace

. I will never miss suburban sunsets .

I honestly do not know why I have been having so much trouble keeping up with my blog. Maybe its working split shifts (early+late hours), maybe it is the awareness of time spent on the computer, but either way I am surprised I’m having trouble remembering what I use to write about here.  Maybe I will work on being better at keeping up with it since I won 2 internet cards (400minutes) this week. One for having the cleanest room, and one for winning our crew game of ultimate assassin (everyone draws a name and has to ‘kill’ that person, once that person is dead you are in charge of assassinating whomever they had, and so on, last one standing wins).

visiting dolphin

Things have been going well. As promised, I haven’t been feeling better each individual day, but I have been feeling improvement overall. I am happy to be working as early riser this week, meaning I get up an hour before the other stewards to set up breakfast, but it also means it is more of a possibility to get a break and off the boat between breakfast and lunch, which is not possible with most of the duty rotations.

This was a pretty good week, as we were anchored a few days ago I was pleased to have a pair of dolphins play with our boat of a few hours. I was unpleased that during my 30 minute break when I was in my room a whale shark decided to come play with the boat… well just upset I didn’t get to see it, but I must come to terms that I can’t see everything every time… for reasons unknown to me, but I am working on it.

Got off the boat today at Manuel Antonio National Park. Walked most of the path by myself since I just had a zodiac drive me over after I was finished cleaning my rooms. It was refreshing to walk the trail by myself, although the trail was still flooded with people since it was another hot gorgeous Sunday and a lot of locals were headed to the beach, but just walking alone, and not part of a group felt good. My first few times there I went with the naturalist to ensure maximum wildlife sightings, but today serenity was worth more to me than sloths. Of course, Manuel Antonio is still a wonderful spot to see sloths and I did spot a few, as well as the crab(chip)eating raccoons and a troop of white faced monkeys.Image

Life on the boat has been going well. Switched from the port side to the starboard side of the foc’sle yesterday, I like my old room better, but I think the new living situation will be better. You would not be able to believe how little my bed was/is (I still have the same bed, just on the other side now), and with my current pain being strongest in the morning, unless it wakes me up before hand, getting out of bed has been quite the issue. Maybe I will upload a picture of my little top bunk sometime. Other than the issue of my broken body, I love my little bed, my job, and my co-workers. There had been discussion of going home, and I just couldn’t picture being anywhere but here. I am loving life, swimming in the Pacific Ocean without a wet suit in the dead of winter. It was a105 degrees on the lido a few days ago, I have a tan line for the first time in what seems like years, and I can’t remember the last time I have cried because I was sad.

My day off this week is in Coiba, the most desired day off. I will finally get the chance to go SCUBA diving with my friend Christian, and it is going to be amazing.

    • Aunt J
    • January 30th, 2012

    Sure wish your blog had “like” buttons, because it would be being clicked by everyone. Hope the long healing process is not too painful. you are in my thoughts (as are the dolphins 🙂 )!

    • Emily
    • January 30th, 2012

    Thank you for the update, I had just been wondering how long it had been since we had heard form you.

    • Mum
    • January 30th, 2012

    Glad to here you are doing well. Wish I was there! Kiss.

    • lulu
    • January 30th, 2012

    So excited to hear from you! I like sleeping starbord and understand small bunks! thank goodness you’re small…..so happy you’ll be getting wet on your day off! The Ocean water will cure you. Happy thinking of you with a tan and enjoying the crew….Just get better! Love and miss you- David and Sam send there best…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

