Back to Alaska for me

Having guest back aboard is a quick reminder of how hard it is to update my blog daily. The hours are long, and with my shifts always split, I am constantly up too early and too late, neither of which is conducive for writing. Don’t let these observations come across as complaints; I am still happy as a clam and already a little sad about leaving my boat. With less than a month left in my contract I was nervous about what I would be up to next. Luckily for me, my friend that started working on the boat the same day as me, Cameron, and who will be getting off the boat the same day as me, has helped me get a job with him for the summer in Maine watching whales.

 I have never been to Maine before, but the more whales I see, the more I want to see, so I am thinking this will be a good fit.

 We are currently going through a 12 day itinerary, and it is a little strange not knowing what is going on or who the guest are since I am working in the galley through this whole cruise. Most stewards are scared of the galley, or just hate working in there, but I am still thoroughly enjoying it. It seems everything I may have had any apprehensions about recently were wasted apprehensions since I have been enjoying everything and so happy here. Again, I am sad to leave my little boat. With all of the places I have lived and loved, I have found myself only crying when I left once. I am starting to feel like the boat might make it 2 times.

 The weather was suppose to get rough last night, up to 10 foot seas, but if it did I slept right through it. We spent the day yesterday traveling up through the Behm Canal in the Misty Fjords National Monument (on the back side of the same island as Ketchikan), and are currently headed towards Petersburg, which sounds like favorite stop amongst the crew. It was so magnificent to travel all the way through the Behm yesterday as it seemed more of a distant dream than something I would actually get to do. Not much different than the Panama Canal I guess.

 No extreme wildlife sightings as of yet, saw a lot of Dalls porpoises yesterday, and was even able to watch a few as the rode the bow.

 I have a new roommate who has been … not the most courteous while getting ready in the morning, but thanks to her I was up early enough this morning to watch a humpback whale as we made our way through Snows Pass before work. I wonder if I will ever tire of watching at whales.

    • Aunt Kerry
    • May 7th, 2012

    Hi Cass! I’ve never been to Maine but I hear they have wonderful Lobsters! What area will you be in?

    • lulu
    • May 7th, 2012

    Sisters weekend in Maine? I’m so happy you’ve got whales for your next gig! When do you leave the boat and how will you travel to Maine?
    Thinking of you all the time!!! Love you Lulu

    • Stacy
    • May 7th, 2012

    so happy you’re happy! 🙂 xoxox

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

