wednesday wednesday

I would start this out by saying that its been an amazing few days, but truth be told, its really been a typical few days. Which at this point, means completely amazing. Spent Monday morning watching a bear on the beach, and spent the evening watching Dalls porpoises bow ride in bio-luminescent water, the fastest of all the cetaceans in the world, they were sure to put on a show.

Yesterday we went to Petersburg, and I was able to hang out with my friend Sarah and her husband Steve.

Today I went SCUBA diving with Carlos. It was awesome a disappointing at the same time. We went down, but I was only able to stay under for about 15 minutes before I was having too many issues with the gear. I have been trying to make it work just because I am so excited to be here and to be diving, but I think today will be my last attempt diving with this gear. I will be sure to bring my own up, or request more adequate sizes if I come back soon. It is silly since I am only one of four people aboard certified to go diving here, but everything is just a little big on me, and with the compression from reaching depth, it just becomes a little too big. I mentioned to my boss that I felt defeated, (an emotion I am not accustomed to experiencing) and he kindly assured me that I couldn’t be defeated since I wasn’t properly set up for success.

Other than that, really had the most amazing experience watching humpbacks today. Working in the dining room setting up dinner service I look out the window and witness and blow very close off the port side. “whale whale whale” I screamed, then “AAAHHh two whales, oh wait, three, no FOUR!” all consecutively coming up one after the other. Unfortunately dinner service was not pushed back late.

Lots on my mind, and thinking of you all. Things are good here except for this little cold I have developed, but so far I am the only one not feeling well. So that is wonderful

xo

    • mum
    • May 23rd, 2012

    Can you bring a Dall’s porpoise home? xo<3

    • Stacy
    • May 23rd, 2012

    Sorry you’re itty bitty and can’t fit in their gear, that’s a drag. Get in my pocket you wittle thing! 🙂 I love you and miss you dearly. Hoping to see you very very soon. xoxo

    • Emily
    • May 23rd, 2012

    Whale, whale, whale!

    All I have here is: dog, bird, cat!

    Love you!

  1. I laughed when I read your blog today, I have been telling folks that when jim and I in ’05 that we hiked, rafted, horseback rode, helicoptered ..did everything but scuba’s Alaska! and there you go beating us to the punch. Hoping your last days are equally amazing. Where will you be based in Maine?

    love you,
    Aunt J

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

