Sheet change day, and things are busy busy busy here while we try to get all our chores done while docked in Cabo del San Jose.

Serving breakfast this morning I thought I saw something strange out the window, it turned out to be Thurston’s devil rays leaping out of the water one by one. There were so many of them, and the behavior continued for so long I just couldn’t believe it!

01.22.13

Breakfast wasn’t even over before they were talking about breaching whales. We watched a few different pods, and a mother and calf pair as well. I didn’t witness any of the breaching, but it was quite excited to be seeing whales again. Tomorrow is when I might get my first chance to see, and maybe kiss a grey whale!!!

William, one of the naturalist showed me a barnacle off of a humpback whale. It was huge, and looked just like the one I kept from the baby humpback from Maine that I did the necropsy on. Then he asked me if I wanted to see a barnacle from a grey whale (of course I did). It was very different than the one from the humpback, apparently barnacle are species specific. Who would have guessed! He also was holding onto one from a logger head sea turtle.

Learning something new every day, and loving every second of it.

    • lulu
    • January 23rd, 2013

    So much fun!!! Keep writing …Love hearing from you

    • Emily
    • January 23rd, 2013

    I had no idea that different kinds of barnacles grew on different creatures. Thanks for sharing what you learn!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

