spoiled alert:alert bay

Spent the afternoon today sitting on the beach of Alert Bay, “home of the killer whales”. It is amazing to be in the northern pacific again, listening to the unique squawks of the bald eagles, the ornate calls of the ravens, and even watched an otter that was swimming in the shallows pull itself out of the water to eat something.

Image

I am not nearly as excited to be part of this 12 day photo expedition as I should be. It has been amazing to find teeny reminders of why it is so wonderful up here. The huge frilled anemones hanging off of all the pilings, the brightly colored lichen attached to the docks, the silly awkward juvenile bald eagles, and perhaps that is all almost as exciting as the killer whales we watched during sunset last evening.

But truth be told, I have been here for some 15 weeks now, and I am not sick of being here, I am not exhausted, worn out, irritated…. And maybe if I didn’t have my plane ticket home in my hand things would be more exciting here, but I don’t feel like I belong here anymore and I am finding myself counting down the days till I get to leave. It is silly and I am in a funk, because it is amazing here, it is beautiful, and I have been asked to go diving in the Misty Fjords this week, which is another amazing thing in an amazing place, but my head feels clouded, and my heart distant. I wish the magnificent breathtaking surroundings here would make my heart smile as they have in the past, but the past 5 days being able to get off the boat in real cities, with real coffee shops and paved roads has made my heart yearn for a slice of the real world, even if just for a minute. The grass is always greener, but Alert Bay, Canada is about as lush a green as you could imagine. Missing you all and probably mainly companionship. Wish I could share these places with you.

  1. looking forward to seeing you next week.. <>

    • Lulu
    • May 4th, 2013

    Thanks for sharing…Always felt the same when traveling to cool places but being there alone. I love you and can wait for my HUG!

  2. Ready to see your little face. Kiss.

    • Emily
    • May 6th, 2013

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

